Officers & Directors


The American Academy of Forensic Sciences is governed by an 18 member Board of Directors. Seven of the members are Officers of the Academy: President, President-Elect, two Vice Presidents, Immediate Past President, Secretary, and Treasurer.

The remaining eleven members of the Board are elected by their respective sections for a period of three years on a staggered basis according to a rotational plan established by the Board (AAFS Bylaws, Article IV, Section 2a).

* Indicates Member of the Executive Committee
** Alternate Member-at-Large

2016-17 Officers

President

John E. Gerns, MFS *

Quellenstrasse 17
Enkenbach‑Alsenborn, Rheinland Pfalz 67677
GERMANY
+49‑6303‑870‑988
gernsj@t‑online.de


Vice President

Jeri D. Ropero‑Miller, PhD

RTI International
3040 Cornwallis Road
PO Box 12194, Bldg 7, Rm 211
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709
(919) 485‑5685
jerimiller@rti.org


Secretary

Susan M. Ballou, MS *

NIST
Special Programs Office
100 Bureau Drive, MS 8102
Gaithersburg, MD 20899‑8102
(301) 975-8750
susan.ballou@nist.gov


Past President

Victor W. Weedn, MD, JD

George Washington University
2100 Foxhall Road, NW
Somers Hall, Lower Level, L‑12
Washington, DC 20007
(202) 242‑5758
vweedn@gwu.edu


President-Elect

Betty Layne DesPortes, JD, MS *

Benjamin & DesPortes, PC
PO Box 2464
Richmond, VA 23218
(804) 788-4444
presidentelectaafs@gmail.com


Vice President

John L. Young, MD

Yale University
203 Maple Street
New Haven, CT 06511‑4048
(203) 623‑5623
John.young@yale.edu


Treasurer

Zeno J. Geradts, PhD *

Netherlands Forensic Institute
Laan van Ypenburg 6
Den Haag 2497 GB
NETHERLANDS
+31‑70‑888‑6413
geradts@uva.nl


2016-17 Directors

Anthropology

Laura C. Fulginiti, PhD *

Forensic Science Center
701 W Jefferson
Phoenix, AZ 85007
(602) 506‑3322
drfulgi@cox.net
Term: 2/14-2/17

Criminalistics

C. Ken Williams, MS, JD

NJSP Office of Forensic Sciences
Central Regional Laboratory
1200 Negron Drive
Hamilton, NJ 08691
(609) 584‑5054
lppwillc@gw.njsp.org
Term: 2/15-2/18


Digital & Multimedia Sciences

Douglas S. Lacey, BS

BEK TEK LLC
9 Kingsland Drive, Ste 111
Stafford, VA 22556‑1353
(540) 602‑2706
doug@bektekllc.com
Term: 2/16-2/19


Engineering Sciences

Laura L. Liptai, PhD

BioMedical Forensics HQ CA/FL
1660 School Street, #103
Moraga, CA 94556
(925) 376‑1240 CA office
liptai@biomedicalforensics.com
Term: 2/14-2/17


General

Julie A. Howe, MBA

Saint Louis University
Franklin, Jefferson & St Charles M.E. Offices
College of Health Sciences, 3084
St. Louis, MO 63104‑1028
(314) 977‑8707
howej@slu.edu
Term: 2/14-2/17


Jurisprudence

Paul Messner, JD

980 Dry Ridge Mt. Zion Road
Dry Ridge, KY 41035‑7672
(859) 903‑9368
firecycle@twc.com
Term: 2/16-2/19


Odontology

John P. Kenney, DDS, MS **

101 S Washington Street
Park Ridge, IL 60068‑4290
(847) 698-2088
frnscdds@aol.com
Term: 2/13-2/19


Pathology/Biology

Andrew M. Baker, MD *

Hennepin County ME
530 Chicago Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55415
(612) 215‑6312
andrew.baker@hennepin.us
Term: 2/16-2/19


Psychiatry & Behavioral Science

Christopher R. Thompson, MD

10850 Wilshire Boulevard, Ste 850
Los Angeles, CA 90024
(310) 470‑7064
chthompson@mednet.ucla.edu
Term: 2/15-2/18


Questioned Documents

Carl R. McClary, BA

2600 Century Parkway, Ste 410
Atlanta, GA 30345
(404) 315‑4606
carl.mcclary@atf.gov
Term: 2/15-2/18


Toxicology

Ruth E. Winecker, PhD

OCME
3025 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699‑3025
(919) 743‑9025
ruth.winecker@dhhs.nc.gov
Term: 2/14-2/17