Officers & Directors


The American Academy of Forensic Sciences is governed by an 18 member Board of Directors. Seven of the members are Officers of the Academy: President, President-Elect, two Vice Presidents, Immediate Past President, Secretary, and Treasurer.

The remaining eleven members of the Board are elected by their respective sections for a period of three years on a staggered basis according to a rotational plan established by the Board (AAFS Bylaws, Article IV, Section 2a).

* Indicates Member of the Executive Committee
** Alternate Member-at-Large

2015-16 Officers

President

*Victor W. Weedn, MD, JD

George Washington University
2100 Foxhall Road, NW
Somers Hall, Lower Level, L‑12
Washington, DC 20007
(202) 242‑4567/5758
vweedn@gwu.edu

Vice President

Norm Sauer, PhD

Professor Emeritus
Department of Anthropology
354 Baker Hall
East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 881‑7747
nsauer@msu.edu

Secretary

*Susan M. Ballou, MS

NIST
Special Programs Office
100 Bureau Drive, MS 8102
Gaithersburg, MD 20899‑8102
(301) 975-8750
susan.ballou@nist.gov

Past President

Daniel A. Martell, PhD

Park Dietz & Associates
2906 Lafayette
Newport Beach, CA 92663
(949) 230‑7321
damartell@aol.com

President-Elect

*John E. Gerns, MFS

Quellenstrasse 17
Enkenbach‑Alsenborn, 67677
GERMANY
+49‑630‑387‑0988
gernsj@t‑online.de

Vice President

Zeno J. Geradts, PhD

Netherlands Forensic Institute
Ministry of Justice
Laan van Ypenburg 6
Den Haag 2497 GB
NETHERLANDS
+31‑70‑888‑6413
zeno@forensic.to

Treasurer

*Betty Layne DesPortes, JD

Benjamin & DesPortes, PC
PO Box 2464
Richmond, VA 23218
(804) 788-4444
bldesportes@aol.com

2015-16 Directors

Anthropology

*Laura C. Fulginiti, PhD

Forensic Science Center
701 West Jefferson
Phoenix, AZ 85007
(602) 506-3322
drfulgi@cox.net
2/14-2/17

Criminalistics

Ken Williams, MS, JD

NJSP Office of Forensic Sciences
North Regional Laboratory
1755 State Highway 46
Little Falls, NJ 07424
(973) 256‑7790
lppwillc@gw.njsp.org
2/15-2/18

Digital & Multimedia Sciences

*David W. Baker, MFS

7515 Colshire Drive
Mailstop T240
McLean, VA 22102
(703) 983-3658
bakerd@mitre.org
2/13-2/16

Engineering Sciences

**Laura L. Liptai, PhD

BioMedical Forensics HQ CA/FL
1660 School Street, #103
Moraga, CA 94556
(925) 376-1240
manager@biomedicalforensics.com
2/14-2/17

General

Julie A. Howe, MBA

Saint Louis University
Franklin, Jefferson & St. Charles Medical Examiner Office
College of Health Sciences, 3084
3437 Caroline
St. Louis, MO 63104
(314) 977-8707
howej@slu.edu
2/14-2/17

Jurisprudence

Roderick T. Kennedy, JD

New Mexico Court of Appeals
PO Box 25306
Albuquerque, NM 87125-0306
(505) 841-4611
rkennedy@loquitur.com
2/13-2/16

Odontology

John P. Kenney, DDS, MS

101 South Washington Street
Park Ridge, IL 60068-4290
(847) 698-2088
frnscdds@aol.com
2/13-2/16

Pathology/Biology

Gregory G. Davis, MD

Jefferson County MEO
1515 6th Avenue S, Room 220
Birmingham, AL 35233-1601
(205) 930-3603
gdavis@uab.edu
2/13-2/16

Psychiatry & Behavioral Science

Christopher R. Thompson, MD

10850 Wilshire Boulevard, Ste 850
Los Angeles, CA 90024
(310) 470‑7064
chthompson@mednet.ucla.edu
2/15-2/18

Questioned Documents

Carl R. McClary, BA

2600 Century Parkway, Ste 410
Atlanta, GA 30345
(404) 315‑4606
carl.mcclary@atf.gov
2/15-2/18

Toxicology

Ruth E. Winecker, PhD

Office of the Chief Medical Examiner
3025 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-3025
(919) 743-9025
ruth.winecker@dhhs.nc.gov
2/14-2/17