2019 AAFS Annual Scientific Meeting Highlight Photos

  Registration and Sales . . . . . 




  Shaping Young Minds . . . . . 

Student Academy Co-Chairs Julie Howe and Marilyn Miller



YFSF Chair Alex Krotulski introducing AAFS President Susan Ballou


Questioned Documents Section Fellow Thomas Vastrick

Rudy Castellani from the Center for Neuropathology

Criminalistics Section Fellow Jose Almirall

Digital & Multimedia Section Fellow Marcus Rogers

Toxicology Section Fellow Nikolas Lemos

Pathology/Biology Section Member M. Eric Benbow


  Academy Cup Competition . . . . . 

Academy Cup Co-Chair Matthew Wood with Chair Carla Miller Noziglia


   Plenary Session . . . . . 

Plenary Session Chair James J.C.U. Downs

Plenary Session Panel

Plenary Session Co-Chair C. Ken Williams

Bonnie Armstrong of The Shaken Baby Alliance

Ted Hunt of the United States Department of Justice

John Sattler of the United States Naval Academy

  Annual Business Meeting . . . . .


AAFS Officers Betty Layne Desportes, Laura Fulginiti, and Carl McClary

AAFS President Susan Ballou addressing the Academy membership

AAFS Parlimentarian Helen McFadden with Officers Ruth Winecker, Zeno Geradts, and Jeri Ropero-Miller

AAFS President Susan Ballou presenting President-Elect Zeno Geradts with the Chain of Command

Incoming President Geradts accepting the Presidential Gavel from Susan Ballou

2019-20 AAFS President Zeno Geradts addressing the Academy membership

  Award Winners . . . . .

R.B.H. Gradwohl Laureate Yale Caplan with AAFS President Susan Ballou

Carla Miller Noziglia, with AAFS President Susan Ballou, accepting the Distinguished Fellow Award on recipient Carol Henderson’s behalf

AAFS President Susan Ballou and Past President Betty Layne DesPortes presenting Daniel Mabel with the Outstanding Early Career Achievement in Forensic Science Award

AAFS President-Elect Zeno Geradts with Past President Victor Weedn who accepted the Ambassador of Forensic Science Award on behalf of the Laura and John Arnold Foundation

FSF Warren-Young Scholarship recipient Gustavo Rodriguez with AAFS President Susan Ballou

HHRRC Committee Chair Douglas Ubelaker and AAFS President Susan Ballou presenting Joergen Lange Thomsen with the Humanitarian and Human Rights Resource Center’s Clyde Snow Award

Mark Listewnik of Taylor and Francis presenting Vienna Lam with the FSF CRC Press Student Travel Grant and Book Prize Award

Jurisprudence Fellow Ron Singer, recipient of the Kenneth S. Field Award of Appreciation, with AAFS President Susan Ballou

AAFS Regional Awards were presented to Andrew Schweighardt of the Northeastern Association of Forensic Scientists and Keena Heise of the Mid-Atlantic Association of Forensic Scientists

Pathology/Biology Board Member Andrew Baker presenting Michelle Gordon with the FSF Emerging Forensic Award

Anthropology Section Fellow Hugh Berryman receives the section’s Service Award

Anthropology Section Fellow Elizabeth Murray with the section’s T. Dale Stewart Award

AAFS President Susan Ballou with the Criminalistics Section’s Mary E. Cowan Outstanding Service Award recipient Dragan Primorac

Criminalistics Section Member John Ballantyne was the section’s Paul L. Kirk Award recipient

Digital & Multimedia Sciences Section Fellow Mark Pollitt received the Carrie Morgan Whitcomb Service Award

Digital & Multimedia Sciences Section Member Joseph Levi White was the section’s Outstanding Case Study Award recipient