Academy Cup

Pre-Registration Not Required — Open to All Meeting Attendees

Wednesday, February 20, 2019
8:00 a.m. – 8:45 a.m.

Come and Play!

A Quiz Game to Test Your Knowledge of Forensics and AAFS

The AAFS 2019 Academy Cup will take place on Wednesday, February 20, before the Plenary Session. Teams meet at 8:00 a.m., an hour before the Plenary Session, for instructions and team strategy. The game consists of multiple-choice and true-or-false questions projected onto a screen to test each section’s knowledge. Every section is out to win it big this year.

Each section’s team is comprised of Past President(s), Past Vice President(s), Board Member(s) and/or Section Officer(s), Chair, Secretary, Young Forensic Scientists Forum (YFSF) volunteers, as well as the section leader’s other strategic choices. The YFSF volunteers will be assigned to sections on Tuesday during the YFSF Special Session. Teams will have 30-40 minutes to answer questions. The YFSF volunteers are at the center of each team as they point out the correct the answer to each question. At the end, the YFSF volunteer will tally the team’s total.

The winning team will be announced and the coveted Academy Cup trophy presented at the AAFS Annual Business Meeting at 4:15 p.m. Teams should be present at the Annual Business Meeting to discover who won. The winning team will have its photo taken at the conclusion of the Annual Business Meeting.

If you just want to test your knowledge, the room is open for all attendees. Feel free to join your section behind your flag to cheer them on!


Academy Cup Committee:

Chair: Laura L. Liptai, PhD, Engineering Sciences Co-Chair: Carla Miller Noziglia, MS, Criminalistics Co-Chair: Matthew R. Wood, PhD, Criminalistics Co-Chair: Winona J. Agbabiaka, JD, Jurisprudence

Academy Cup Team Leaders:

Jennifer C. Love, PhD
Paul D. Emanovsky, PhD
Engineering Sciences:
Darren Franck, MSME
David Pienkowski, PhD

Adam J. Freeman, DDS
Roger D. Metcalf, DDS, JD

Questioned Documents:
Jan Seaman Kelly, BA
Karen J. Nobles, BA
Kristy Kadash, PhD
Patrick Buzzini, PhD
Joanna L. Collins, MFS
Steven C. Clark, PhD

David O. Carter, PhD
Chris Milroy, MD, LLB

Nikolas P. Lemos, PhD
William R. Johnson, BA


Digital & Multimedia Sciences:
Marla E. Carroll, BS
Jason M. Paroff, JD
Pamela A.W. King, JD
Christine Funk, JD
Psychiatry & Behavioral Science:
Dean Michael De Crisce, MD
Sebastien S. Prat, MD


  8:00 a.m. Instructions, Introductions of Team Leaders, and Team Strategizing
  8:05 a.m. PowerPoint® Questions and Team Answer Sheet Turned In After the Game
  8:45 a.m. Conclusion of Competition