The Anthropology Section Needs Your Assistance

Source: Teresa Wilson, PhD, Section Secretary

Seeking Section Donations

The AAFS Anthropology Section's working budget for the 2024 conference is currently short due to rising expenses, a decrease in Anthropology workshops, and donation revenue. In order for the Anthropology Section to continue our standard of offering students awards, as well as providing the quality and amount of food to which we are accustomed, and free drink tickets at the Anthropology Section reception, we need your help.  

We humbly ask each of you to consider assisting the Anthropology Section by donating $10.00-$15.00 to the section using the following link: Scroll down to AAFS SECTION DONATIONS. You can designate the Anthropology Section on the bottom of the donation screen (see example below). In the dedication line, you can specify if you would like your donation to go toward "Awards" or "Reception."  Please note that all donations are tax deductible, and you will receive a receipt from AAFS for this donation.




Once the section receives your donation and it is accounted for in our budget for the 2024 conference, we will send you a personalized thank you note so that you can ensure we received your donation, and it was attributed accurately. Any donations that are received before December 1, 2023, will be eligible to be used for the 2024 AAFS conference. After that date, donations will be added to the budget for the 2025 AAFS conference.

Deadline Reminder

This is a gentle reminder that applications for the following awards are due October 1, 2023: The Outstanding Mentorship Award, The Diversity and Inclusion Travel Award, The Caroline Bond Day Diversity and Inclusion Pilot Study Grant, and The Cobb Public Engagement Award

Please refer to our Section PPM for eligibility, application requirements, and judging criteria. Materials can be sent to Section Chair Krista Latham at



The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.