General Section Award Nominations

Source: Gina Londino-Smolar, MS, Section Secretary

While you are enjoying some down time this summer, don't forget there is still time to nominate someone for the 2024 General Section Awards. If you have someone you would like to nominate for the Kehres or Hunt Award, please let us know by August 15.

As a reminder, we are accepting nominations for the Paul W. Kehres and John R. Hunt awards. All nominations must be emailed to the General Section Awards Committee Chair, Katherine M. Brown, at by August 15, 2023. As a reminder, nominations must be in writing (email suffices). We also need a CV with AAFS information/service and preferably a nomination letter. (While the letter is not required, nominees with a nomination letter are best so that their contributions to the section can be detailed).

The award criteria are listed in the PPM on the AAFS website HERE. 

I have also listed the criteria below for your convenience:

John R. Hunt Award:

The John R. Hunt Award is intended to recognize sustained superior contributions to the General Section, the American Academy of Forensic Sciences, and the forensic science community.

  1. Must be a Fellow of the General Section for the last consecutive three (3) years when this award is bestowed; and
  2. Must have attended a minimum of 50% of the section business meetings in the past six (6) years; and
  3. Must have presented a scientific paper, poster session, participated as a presenter in a joint or plenary session, breakfast or luncheon seminar, or workshop within the past five (5) years; and
  4. Must have published at least once in the Journal of Forensic Sciences, which can be any of the following: article, technical note, or case history report; and
  5. Should have served in an elected position within the section, in an official AAFS capacity for at least one (1) year, as a committee chair for the General Section for at least one (1) year, or as a member of a committee(s) for at least three (3) years; or
  6. In the absence of one of the above section or AAFS activities (criteria (2), (3), (4), or (5)), potential candidates shall have made a significant contribution to the forensic science community that may not be reflected by specific section or AAFS effort.

Paul W. Kehres Meritorious Service Award:

The Robert "Bob" Thibault Award is to be given annually to recognize an individual in the General Section who has worked behind the scenes for the good of the General Section. The recipient of this award should exemplify the qualities of its namesake — a selfless, committed, service-oriented leader who has continually shown great devotion to the General Section and the American Academy of Forensic Sciences.

This service may include but not be limited to:

  1. Performance of section responsibilities under extremely adverse conditions, or
  2. Service to the section far above and beyond that which would normally be expected, and/or communicating and implementing particularly inspirational ideas that particularly benefit the section.

The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.