Maureen Casey-Owens Award Recipient

Source: James A. Green, BS, Section Chair, Questioned Documents

The American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS) Questioned Documents Section presents the Maureen Casey-Owens Award to honor the Best Paper or Poster given at the annual scientific conference. The presentations are judged by several members who are selected by the section's Awards Committee Chair.

The award is in recognition of the contributions made by Maureen Casey-Owens to the field of Forensic Document Examination. Ms. Casey-Owens served in several capacities in the Questioned Documents Section of the AAFS, on the Executive Board of the AAFS, and as President of the Academy during the years 1984–1985. Ms. Casey-Owens is the only person to have served concurrently as President of the AAFS and the American Society of Questioned Document Examiners (ASQDE).

This year, the Questioned Document Section is proud to announce the 2023 recipient of the Maureen Casey-Owens Award is Member Andrea Ledic, MS.  Her presentation was titled The Characterization of Polymers of Counterfeit Identity Documents of European Union (UN) Member States.  Andrea has been an active Member of the AAFS, contributing regularly to the Academy's program.    

Andrea will receive a plaque commemorating her award and a waiver for the registration fee for the 2024 meeting. Please join us in congratulating Andrea on receiving this award!


The views and opinions expressed in the articles contained in the Academy News are those of the identified authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the Academy.